Local body elections  |  12 Feb 2024

Voters in the Lyttelton community subdivision have until noon on Saturday 17 February to vote for someone to represent them on the Te Pātaka o Rākaihautū Banks Peninsula Community Board.

Christchurch City Council Electoral Officer Jo Daly says that all enrolled voters in the Lyttelton community subdivision should have received their by-election voting papers by now.

“To have their say, electors just need to read about the candidates, tick their preferred candidate, and return the completed voting form to us.”

The candidates are:

  • Jillian Frater (The People’s Choice)
  • Vicki Tahau-Paton (Independent)

You can view their profiles here. 

“You can cast your vote right up until noon on Saturday 17 February. To ensure it is received, make sure you post your vote to us in the supplied pre-paid envelope by the close of business on Tuesday 13 February 2024. After that date you can deliver your vote by hand to vote bins at the Lyttelton Library and Service Centre and Council’s Civic Offices,” Ms Daly says.

Special voting facilities for the by-election are available Monday to Friday until 16 February at:

  • Christchurch City Council, Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, 9am to 5pm
  • Lyttelton Library and Service Centre, Customer Services Desk, 18 Canterbury Street, 10am to 2pm

On election day, Saturday 17 February 2024, special voting facilities will be available at:

  • Council Civic Offices, 9am to 12 noon
  • Lyttelton Library and Service Centre, 10am to 12 noon

Voting bins are also available at these locations for electors to return completed voting documents.

Ms Daly says eligible voters who have not received voting papers in the mail can still vote in the by-election by requesting a special vote.

Contact the Electoral Team at 03 941 8581 or by email at elections@ccc.govt.nz.