Local body elections  |  26 Jan 2024

Voting papers for the by-election will be mailed out to enrolled electors from today for the vacant position in the Lyttelton Community Subdivision on the Te Pātaka o Rākaihautū Banks Peninsula Community Board.

“If you’re enrolled in the Lyttelton Community Subdivision, you’ll find everything you need – a candidate profile sheet with the profiles of the candidates, the voting paper, and a return envelope," says Electoral Officer Jo Daly. 

"It’s easy to vote and to be part of the democratic process in your community."

The two candidates are:

  • Jillian Frater (The People’s Choice)
  • Vicki Tahau-Paton (Independent)

The two candidate’s profiles can be viewed online here.

The position became available last year following the resignation of community board member Reuben Davidson.

Voting will close at noon on 17 February 2024. Progress results will be announced later that day.

To make sure your completed vote is received before voting closes, post it no later than 5pm on Tuesday 13 February. Votes can also be hand-delivered to vote bins at the Christchurch City Council Civic Offices and the Lyttelton Library and Service Centre. 

“Special voting facilities for people who are on the unpublished roll or have lost, or not received, their voting papers are available,” Ms Daly says.

The electoral team can post voting papers out to electors or issue them in person Monday to Friday between 26 January and 16 February 2024 from:

  • Christchurch City Council, Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, 9am to 5pm
  • Lyttelton Library and Service Centre, Customer Services Desk, 18 Canterbury Street, 10am to 2pm

To get the voting papers posted out, contact the electoral team on 03 941 8581 or at elections@ccc.govt.nz.

On Saturday 17 February 2024, special voting facilities will be available at:

  • Council Civic Offices, 9am to 12 noon
  • Lyttelton Library and Service Centre, 10am to 12 noon

Information on the by-election is available at ccc.govt.nz/elections 

Ms Daly and the electoral team can be contacted on 03 941 8581 or at elections@ccc.govt.nz